Tata Steel Chess India – First Women’s Event with Equal Prizes

Leading international masters, India’s top man as well as female masters, young Indian talent and also Viswanathan Anand as the tournament ambassador and also expert will enhance the 4th version of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament. This is the very first time that a women’s tournament will certainly be played in the same style and with the exact same prize money The tournament will be kept in Kolkata from November 29 to December 4.

First Women’s tournament with equivalent prizes

The intro of a women’s variation of the tournament was announced in August for the 4th version of the Tata Steel Chess India Open. In its 4th edition, the TSCI will host a females’s tournament with the same format: rapid and blitz.

Mr. Viswanathan Anand, chess ambassador of Tata Steel India, said. I am very delighted that today chess is thought about as a mainstream sport. Events like Tata Steel Chess India, where our young gamers are pitted against worldwide masters, truly aid to create brand-new champs.

Today, India is considered a chess powerhouse, with both women and men mastering the sporting activity. The intro of a females’s tournament with the same prize money as the men’s department is a welcome step and an excellent effort, as well as we hope it will be welcomed by chess enthusiasts too. Chess is and also should be an equal sport.

Ms. Tania Sachdev revealed her joy over the intro of women’s section in Tata Steel chess in India. She likewise said that the introduction of equivalent cash prize will motivate extra women to occupy the sporting activity as a career.

Tournament Format

Two tournaments: Women’s event and Open event. The tournament will be played in the following 2 formats:

  • Rapid Tournament

A single 10-player round robin tournament will be hung on November 29, 30 and also December 1, with 3 rounds per day. The time control for the entire game is 15 minutes, with 10 secs increments from the 1st action.

  • Blitz tournament

A double 10-player round-robin tournament with 9 rounds daily on December 3 and 4. The time control is 3 minutes, with 2 secs increments from step 1.


  • Open event

Wesley So – United States
Hidetoki Nakamura – USA
Shakhriyar Mamedyarov – Azerbaijan
Nodirbek Abdussatolov – Uzbekistan
Parham Maghsoodloo – Iran
Vidit Gujarathi
Arjun Erigaisi
D Gukesh
R Praggnanandhaa (blitz only)
Nihal Salem.
Sethuraman SP (rapid only)

  • Women’s event

Anna Muzychuk – Ukraine
Maria Muzychuk – Ukraine
Nana Zaganidze – Georgia
Anna Ushenina – Ukraine
Olivia Kiolbasa – Poland
Koneru Hambi – Poland
Harika Dronavali
R Vaishali
Bakty Kulkarni (blitz only)
Savita Shri
Vantika Agarwal (rapid only)

Tournament Place

Bhasha Bhawan, National Library of India.
Platform Roadway, Block A, Kolkata.

The tournament is open to viewers. No tickets will be marketed: passes will be readily available at the location on the day of the suit on a first-come, first-served basis.