Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2023 is in full swing!

The Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2023 will be held in Wijk aan Zee, Netherlands. This is the 85th edition of the event and will take place between January 13 and 29. The tournament is famous as the “Wimbledon of chess” and draws top chess grandmasters from around the world. The tournament has been won by several of the greatest chess players of all time, including Fabiano Caruana and Magnus Carlsen.

The first Tata Steel Chess Tournament took place in January 1938, now has grown into one of the most prestigious and popular chess tournaments in the world. It has been held annually in the Netherlands since then. It attracts thousands of amateur players and amateur spectators who come to watch the action and the live events. The event also attracts the best chess players in the world, making it one of the most competitive events on the chess circuit.

Tata Steel Chess Masters 2023 - Chess.com


The schedule for the Tata Steel Chess Tournament in 2023 is very similar to that of the previous years. A few notable exceptions include the fact that the Challengers will be given 3 rest days on January 19, January 23 and January 26. The rest days of the Tata Steel Masters will be on January 18, January 23 and January 26.

These players will compete in a round-robin tournament with each player playing a set of 13 rounds. All of the rounds will start at 14:00 hours CET. Each player will have 40 steps for 100 minutes, then 20 steps for 50 minutes, then 15 minutes to make the rest of their moves. For each move, the time control will be 30-second increment.


In the Masters young talents such as Gukesh, Erigaisi, Abdusattorov, Keymer as well as Praggnanandhaa fulfill knowledgeable leading players such as Carlsen, Ding, Caruana, Aronian therefore, and also the Challengers additionally provides an interesting line-up.

  • Masters
1Magnus Carlsen2859
2Ding Liren2811
3Fabiano Caruana2766
4Anish Giri2764
5Wesley So2760
6Richard Rapport2740
7Levon Aronian2735
8Dommaraju Gukesh2725
9Arjun Erigaisi2722
10Parham Maghsoodloo2719
11Nodirbek Abdusattorov2713
12Vincent Keymer2696
13R Praggnanandhaa2684
14Jorden van Foreest  2681
  • Challengers
1Salem Saleh2677
2Amin Tabatabaei2660
3Javokhir Sindarov2654
4Alexander Donchenko2636
5Jergus Pechac2628
6Erwin l’Ami2627
7Max Warmerdam2619
8Mustafa Yilmaz2617
9Luis Paulo Supi2612
10Adhiban Baskaran2611
11Abhimanyu Mishra2549
12Thomas Beerdsen2521
13Rameshbabu Vaishali2425
14Eline Roebers2343

The youngest Tata Steel Chess Tournament of All Time

This year, the terrific Dutch chess tournament, which once started in Beverwijk and also has now been at home in the seaside hotel of Wijk aan Zee for decades, is commemorating its 85th edition. The Indian multinational Tata is the major sponsor and continues to support the tournament.

Tata Steel Chess tournament will feature 14 Grandmasters. Magnus Carlsen and Ding Liren, the world’s primary and number two, start this year in Wijk aan Zee. Carlsen, that is currently World Champion in timeless, in rapid as well as in blitz chess has won Wijk regularly than any player.

Top seeds include Norwegian world no. 1 Magnus Carlsen, who has won the event 8 times: 2008, 2010, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019 und 2022. Several gamers who won in Wijk before begin this year. Fabiano Caruana, winner of Wijk 2020, Levon Aronian, that won the tournament in 2007, 2008, 2012 and 2014, Wesley So, winner of the 2017 tournament, as well as lastly Jorden van Foreest, who won in 2021. Other players in the tournament include Saleh Salem, Amin Tabatabaei, Javokhir Sindarov, Luis Paulo Supi, and Vaishali Rameshbabu and more.

In the Masters Anish Giri as well as Jorden van Foreest represent the colors of the host country. Richard Connection – the Hungarian has changed federations and now plays under the Romanian flag – is another top-class individual. Jan-Krzysztof Duda from Poland was additionally supposed to play, but needed to terminate for individual factors and also will be replaced by the Iranian grandmaster Parham Maghsoodloo.

The 22-year-old Maghsoodloo is the link to the team of juniors in the Masters. This year, five of the 14 individuals are 19 years of ages or younger. The 16-year old Gukesh Dommaraju as well as the 17-year old Praggnanandhaa Rameshbabu are the youngest players in the field. Vincent Keymer and Nodirbek Abdussatorov are both 18 years old while Arjun Erigaisi is 19.

German chess followers are of course particularly eager just how Vincent Keymer will certainly make out in the Masters. The young German is on the rise as well as simply completed second at the World Rapid Championships in Almaty.

The Challengers also has a fascinating, worldwide, young and solid field. Top seed is Amin Tabatabaei from Iran, second seed is Saleh Salem from the United Arab Emirates. Third seed is Javokhir Sindarov, another talent from Uzbekistan. The second German, who begins this year in Wijk, is Alexander Donchenko.

Vaishali Rameshbabu, the sister of Pragg, is just one of two female individuals. The young Dutchwoman Eline Roebers is the other. Both have very challenging jobs ahead of them.

The young Slovakian Jergus Pechac is likewise a fantastic ability. Abhimanyu Mishra, the youngest grandmaster in the history of chess, also takes component.

Final Thought

Tournament director Jeroen van den Berg and his group once again managed to produce a very interesting field in both tournaments, with lots of players from the world’s top, the best juniors, and a variety of local players. Strong and also young women players have additionally been invited. It will be amazing to see if as well as exactly how the developed players can keep the ambitious juniors at bay in the Masters and exactly how the young guns will certainly play amongst themselves.